ACD2748 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo

Mascall, Vlaute, Ho, Sokolovic, Lau, Adaskin, Hatzis

Marc Djokic - violin

ACD2 2748
• For his debut album, Solo Seven, violinist Marc Djokic is proud to present a collection of pieces for solo violin by great Canadian composers.   Most of the program selections are the result of his close collaboration with each of the composers.   Djokic’s ever-evolving research into new Canadian violin repertoire is the inspiration behind this project.

• Works by Richard Mascall, Christos Hatzis, Matthias Maute, Kevin Lau, Ana Sokolovic, and Vincent Ho celebrate the violin as a solo instrument, and push the technical, musical, and polyphonic limits of the instrument.

• “Marc Djokic is a master of the violin: As a technician, searching and mastering difficult repertory; as an interpreter, understanding the expressive requirements of the music; and as a communicator, translating the music to the listener the way the composer intended.   My respect and appreciation for Marc's artistry grows by the day,” said composer Christos Hatzis

• Winner of the 2017-2018 Prix Goyer and a Prix Opus, the former Canada Council Instrument Bank recipient is one of Canada's most prolific violinists.   Marc Djokic is currently Artist-in-Residence at CAMMAC.

• Originally from Halifax, Djokic first studied with his father Philippe Djokic, one of Canada’s great violin soloists, and a pupil of the master Ivan Galamian.   Marc continued his studies on full scholarships with David Russell at Cleveland Institute of Music’s Young Artist Program, Donald Weilerstein at the New England Conservatory, and Jaime Laredo at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music.

• Marc has toured across Canada several times as an accomplished chamber musician, from BC Contact to Jeunesses Musicales and Debut Atlantic.   His collaborations include Trio Tangere, Bev &aamp; Marc, Air Strings and Keys, Djokic-Leblanc, and Art Crush.

Richard Mascall (b. 1973)
Sonata for solo violin & Digital FX
  1. I. Labyrinth         5:20
  2. V. At The Corner House         7:01

Matthias Maute (b. 1963)
Noncerto RR3, Noncerto Notre-Dame-de-Grace
  3. I. Sparkle-Andantino         3:47
  4. II. Chopin - A tempo giusto         2:37
  5. V. Casareccia - Chaconne Prestissimo         2:52

Vincent Ho (b. 1975)
  6. Morning Song         3:22

Ana Sokolovic (b. 1968)
Cinque danze per violino solo (Five dances for Violin Solo)
  7. Dance I.         3:24
  8. Dance IV         1:37

Kevin Lau (b. 1982)
  9. Tears         13:48

Murray Adaskin (1906-2002)
10. Vocalise No. 1         6:50

Christos Hatzis (b. 1953)
11. Dystopia         4:05

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879