ACD2757 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo

Ravel, Poulenc, Offenbach

Orchestre symphonique de Québec
Fabien Gabel, conductor

ACD2 2757
From the waltz to the French cancan to the ballet, this program by the Orchestre symphonique de Québec under the baton of conductor Fabien Gabel illustrates the perfect symbiosis between dance and French music.   On the menu: Maurice Ravel's Valses nobles et sentimentales; Jacques Offenbach's suite Gaîté Parisienne, arranged by Manuel Rosenthal; and the suite Les Biches by Francis Poulenc.

Recognized internationally as one of the stars of the new generation, Fabien Gabel is a regular guest of major orchestras in Europe, North America, and Asia, and has been music director of the Orchestre symphonique de Québec since September 2012.   He is also music director of the Orchestre Français des Jeunes for the 2017, 2018, and 2019 seasons, taking over from David Zinman.

Recently, Mr. Gabel has had successful guest-conducting engagements with the London Symphony Orchestra, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra, the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, Washington's National Symphony Orchestra, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the BBC Symphony Orchestra, and the Oslo Philharmonic.   He also regularly conducts the Orchestre de Paris, the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra.

Proud of its French heritage, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec is a staunch advocate of Canadian repertoire.   Without abandoning its love for the great European and American orchestral repertoire, it has commissioned many new Canadian works.   Thanks to this mix of interests and its versatility, the orchestra's sound has often been identified as that of French America.   This unique sonic color was inherited from and shaped by several artistic directors such as Wilfrid Pelletier, Pierre Dervaux, James DePreist, Simon Streatfeild, and Yoav Talmi, and it has been further refined since 2012, when Fabien Gabel stepped up to the orchestra's podium.

MAURICE RAVEL (1875-1937)
Valses nobles et sentimentales (version pour orchestre)
  1. I. Modéré         [1:24]
  2. II. Assez lent         [2:58]
  3. III. Modéré         [1:41]
  4. IV. Assez animé         [1:21]
  5. V. Presque lent         [1:37]
  6. VI. Assez vif         [0:50]
  7. VII. Moins vif         [3:01]
  8. VIII. Épilogue         [4:29]

Les Biches suite, FP36
  9. Rondeau         [3:29]
10. Adagietto         [3:53]
11. Rag-Mazurka         [6:14]
12. Andantino         [3:16]
13. Final         [3:23]

Gaîté parisienne, extraits
Arrangement : Manuel Rosenthal (1904-2003)
14. Ouverture (d'après La vie parisienne)         [2:25]
15. N°   1. Allegro brillante (d'après Mesdames de la Halie, 1858)         [1:10]
16. N°   2. Polka (d'après Le voyage dons la lune)         [1:44]
17. N°   6. Allegro (d'après La vie parisienne)         [1:15]
18. N°   8. Valselente (d'après Orphée aux enfers)         [3:22]
19. N°   9. Tempo di marcia (d'après Tromb-al-ca-zar)         [1:34]
20. N° 10. Valse moderato (d'après La belle Héène)         [1:58]
21. N° 13. Allegro molto (d'après Le voyage dans la lune)         [2:15]
22. N° 15. Allegro (Manuel Rosenthal)         [0:29]
23. N° 16. Cancan (d'après Orphée aux enfers et Robinson Crusoé)         [2:13]
24. N° 17. Quadrille (Orphée aux enfers)         [1:03]
25. N° 18. [Allegro] (Orphée aux enfers)         [0:46]
26. N° 19. Allegro moderato         [0:49]
27. N° 20. Allegro / N°21. [Allegro] (Orphée aux enfers)         [1:32]
28. N° 22. Vivo (Orphée aux enfers)         [1:09]
29. N° 23. Barcarolle (d'après Les contes d'Hoffmann et Les fées du Rhin)         [3:47]

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879